October 24, 2018 / Member News

2018 AIA Baltimore and BAF Excellence in Design Awards Announced

©2017 Tim Griffith

Baltimore, MD (October 24, 2018) – The Baltimore Chapter of the American Institute of Architects (AIA Baltimore) and the Baltimore Architecture Foundation honored the best of Baltimore-based design at the 2018 AIA Baltimore Excellence in Design Awards Celebration hosted at Center Stage on October 19.
The Grand Design Award went to Morgan State University Earl G. Graves School of Business & Management, designed by a team of architects that included Ayers Saint Gross (Executive Architect), Kohn Pederson Fox (Design Architect), and KPN Architects, Inc. (Associate Architect). The jury, made up of a distinguished group of Pittsburgh architects, commended the way the project underscores how architecture reinforces the institution’s mission and aspirations, while offering high quality design that is publicly engaging and of service to the broader community.
2018 marked the first annual Social Equity Award presented by AIA Baltimore and the Neighborhood Design Center. The award, which recognizes community-driven projects that promote social equity, went to Dorothy I. Height Elementary School. The jury of local nonprofit, education, and design leaders applauded the robust way the project team collaborated with a deeply informed local community, leading to a school that truly serves community and purpose.
The Baltimore Architecture Foundation presented its distinguished Golden Griffin and Roger D. Redden awards during the Excellence in Design Awards. The awards recognize dedication to architecture and the furthering of its understanding in Baltimore. Morgan State University received the Golden Griffin Award and Lance Humphries of the Mt. Vernon Place Conservancy received the Roger D. Redden Award.
Grand Design Award
Morgan State University Earl G. Graves School of Business & Management; Executive Architect: Ayers Saint Gross, Design Architect: Kohn Pedersen Fox, Associate Architect: KPN Architects, Inc.; Baltimore, MD
Social Equity Design Award
Dorothy I. Height Elementary School; Cho Benn Holback + Associates, a Quinn Evans Company; Baltimore, MD
Award for Excellence in Environmentally Sustainable Design
Fells Point Passive House; Ziger/Snead Architects; Baltimore, MD
Michael F. Trostel, FAIA, Award for Excellence in a Historic Preservation Project
Seminary Ridge Museum; Murphy & Dittenhafer Architects; Gettysburg, PA
Good Design = Good Business Award Winners
400 East Pratt Street Addition; Fillat+ Architects; Baltimore, MD
Sagamore Spirit Distillery; Ayers Saint Gross; Baltimore, MD
Excellence in Design Awards Winners
Eager Park; Gensler and Mahan Rykiel Associates; Baltimore, MD
Fells Point Passive House; Ziger/Snead Architects; Baltimore, MD
Spa Creek House; GriD architects; Annapolis, MD
The Pearl; Design Collective, Inc.; Silver Spring, MD
The Potomac School New Athletic Center; Hord Coplan Macht; McLean, VA (Unbuilt)
View all AIA Baltimore Design Award Winners on the Design Awards webpage
View photos of the celebration