December 18, 2019 / Chapter News and Notices

2019 Annual Meeting & Holiday Party Recap

Photo courtesy Baltimore Snap

AIA Baltimore and the Baltimore Architecture Foundation held their Annual Meeting and Holiday Party at One Charles Center. We’ll be moving to the retail level to establish the AIA Baltimore/BAF Center for Architecture and Design in early 2020, but considering our new home is currently a construction site, we decided to hold the event on the second floor thanks to our hosts Artemis Properties and Cushman & Wakefield. It was the perfect setting to hear the design team at Quinn Evans discuss the updated plans for the Center. We can’t wait to open the doors next year!

Members mingled and enjoyed lunch before the presentation, and were greeted by members of the AIA Baltimore Allied Members Committee who volunteered alongside Morgan State University architecture students. Kirby Fowler of Downtown Partnership and Brian Levine of the Greater Baltimore Committee provided welcoming remarks. 2019 BAF President Dina Markakis spoke about all the great things happening at the Foundation, and 2019 AIA Baltimore President Suzanne Frasier, FAIA shared AIA Baltimore highlights. Both organizations introduced new board members and board presidents. Scott Walters, AIA will serve as the AIA Baltimore 2020 President and Katherine LePage, AIA will serve as the BAF 2020 President.

AIA Baltimore and BAF presented the following awards:

Jim Dilts Award

Lance Humphries, The Baltimore Townhouse 1780-1865

For the first time the BAF presented the Jim Dilts Publication Award to a local author and historian who is working toward publishing a new work, which expands upon the existing canon of knowledge of Baltimore’s built environment. The Jim Dilts Award is being presented in memory of author, Baltimore Sun newspaperman, and BAF board member James D. Dilts.

This year’s recipient is architectural historian, Lance Humphries. Lance will use the funds to obtain image rights for his new publication entitled, The Baltimore Townhouse 1780-1865. We wish Lance well in this endeavor and we look forward to reading this new book very soon upon its release.

AIA Baltimore President’s Awards

For exceptional service to AIA Baltimore for the formation of the AIA Baltimore/BAF Center for Architecture and Design:

Lou Kousouris, Artemis Properties
Katie Hearn, Redgate
Howard Stevens, Pascale & Stevens

For exceptional service to AIA Baltimore as finalists for the design of the AIA Baltimore/BAF Center for Architecture and Design:

Hord Coplan Macht
RM Sovich Architecture
Ziger|Snead Architects

For the selected design team for the new Center:

Quinn Evans

For serving on the jury to select the design team for the AIA Baltimore/BAF Center for Architecture and Design:

Rebecca Johnson, Executive Director, AIA Philadelphia/Philadelphia Center for Architecture and Design
Richard Miller, FAIA, Hoefer Wysocki | President, AIA Dallas/Architecture and Design Exchange
Dawn Taylor, Executive Director, Kansas City Center for Architecture & Design
Kim Yao, AIA, Architecture Research Office | President-Elect, AIA New York